Sweet Poetry: Q&A with Anna King Ivey

Today’s Q&A is with Anna King Ivey, a contributor of poetry to the second issue of Sugared Water.

Anna Ivey is working on a PhD in poetry at Georgia State University in Atlanta, Georgia. Her most recent publications have been featured in Antithesis, Stone Highway Review, West Trade, and White Stag literary magazines. She lives in McDonough, Georgia with her husband Chad and her daughter Aralyn. Anna and Chad make soy candles for fun and attempt to sell them.

a little taste of “Everything Afterwards Had Beenfrom SW#002:

After the girl becomes an inspector she learns the whereabouts of symptoms painted with lightning. After the girl becomes an inspector she jettisons the cobblestones lodged in her grief. After the girl becomes an inspector she finally sees that no diagnosis is without new respective parameters of love…

SW: What are you currently reading?
AI: I am working on Fearless by Eric Blehm–it’s the story of Navy SEAL Adam Brown. I don’t usually read a lot of non-fiction, but a family member recommended the work after the piece became inspirational to him during recovery from drug addiction. Right before that I read Cane River by Lalita Tademy, which I loved.

SW: What are you working on now?
AI: I am toying with my third manuscript. I’m about halfway finished with it, but have been focusing more so on trying to publish my finished pieces instead of producing new material. My first manuscript is still looking for a publishing home which I know is out there somewhere.

SW: What writers/works have inspired you?
AI: Sylvia Plath is my favorite, as is the little-known Greek poet George Seferis. I also really enjoy Wallace Stevens. The fiction works that have really moved me are Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, even though it’s very controversial in the academic community. I love Mythology by Edith Hamilton, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

SW: Where do you seek inspiration?
AI: I am very moved by travel, though I don’t get to do so as often as I like. Usually having some quiet gives me the peace to begin processing all that I observe and what moves me from those observations. For a long time I wrote about my own grief of losing people I loved, but now instead of writing about what is past, I write about where I am in the present and all of the horrid, lovely accessories that come with it.

SW: Would you talk a bit about your writing process?
AI: I usually start with a word or a phrase in mind, usually something that is visual. Sometimes unusual words, or words I like, will be enough to begin a poem. I have become a predominately prose poet, so I have to find a balance between poetic language that bends towards the surreal and the imaginary and still ground it enough to be in some kind of reality. I’ve grown a lot since entering my PhD program at Georgia State University and thank everyone who has gone through workshop with me and had to say, “Uh, I have no idea what this means?”

SW: With what are you obsessed?
AI: Right now, it’s trying to publish my book! I’m also really working on incorporating the idea of Lord of the Rings, Third Eye Blind, Garth Brooks, and being a newly-wed into my newest project. Oh, and Crossfit! I am an avid Crossfit gymgoer, and I’m completely obsessed with my local gym, Crossfit Pulse.

Anna King Ivey | SW#002

Leave a Reply

