Sweet Poetry: Q&A with Jessica Bixel

Today’s Q&A is with Jessica Bixel, a contributor of poetry to issues #001 & #002 of Sugared Water.

Jessica Bixel edits Rufous City Review with some of her favorite pals. Her recent work has appeared or is forthcoming in Birdfeast, Parcel, Houseguest Magazine, Lines + Stars, District Lit, Handsome, Sink Review, Leveler, and Transom Journal.

a little taste of “The Sister and Other Inventionsfrom SW#002:

I am calling myself magpie, lilac,
moon in a ravine before a river.
Lighthouse. I do this for you,
of course.

SW: What are you working on now?
JB: A silly novel. A series of poems about fire and loss and mothers. Letter writing.

SW: What writers have inspired you?
JB: Larissa Szporluk and Jennifer Chang, both stunning poets and stunning humans alike. Joshua Poteat. Brigit Pegeen Kelly. Allison Titus.

SW: Would you talk a bit about your writing process?
JB: I read somewhere the following: I’m very tolerant of stillness. I’d rather not move my hands just to move them. I’ll wait for the right thing. I hope I’m not misquoting. But I’ve come to tolerate spending more time not writing than writing. My process starts with a long stretch of silence, of listening, of (sometimes frustrating) stillness. But the wait, when I find the right thing, is worth it.

Jessica Bixel | web | SW#001 | SW#002

Leave a Reply

